How to register ?

Categories of engineering practitioners as defined by the Act with their abbreviated legal designations are:

  1. Chartered Engineer (CEng)
  2. Associate Engineer (AEng)
  3. Affiliate Engineer (AflEng)
  4. Incorporated Engineer (IEng)
  5. Engineering Diplomate (EngDip)
  6. Engineering Technician (EngTec)

It is hereby informed that, following the said Act, registration at the ECSL for the categories 1, 2, and 3 above will be carried out through The Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka (IESL) and that for the categories of 4 and 5 above will be carried out through The Institution of Incorporated Engineers, Sri Lanka (IIESL). The exact procedure will be informed by the two institutions. ECSL will use the records of their members given by IESL and IIESL to update its registries.

The registration must be completed before 31st December of previous year. The annual registration fee is 1000/= LKR.

Procedure for the registration of others who are not covered by IESL and IIESL would be informed in due course.